City And the City

I was just on vacation (during my vacation, very post-modern) when I read City and the City by China Mieville.  It was my first time reading anything by this author and I will say I was very happy with this book.  It is a combination of noir, political allegory, and science fiction.

The basic premise is that there are two cities that touch but if you live in one, you can’t acknowledge the other (by law) and a person is from one city and murdered and their body is dumped in the other.  It is an interesting allegory of the Muslim and the western world.  I won’t spoil the book itself but I will say that it is worth picking up.

2 responses to “City And the City

  1. This sounds like an interesting book, will have a look for it on amazon. Thanks for recommending.

  2. I loved the book as well. It’s interesting that you saw it as an allegory of the Muslim & the Western World. What led you to that inference?

Leave a Reply

