Acquisitions, week of 2/7

I was belatedly celebrating some overtime this week, but that’s still no excuse. The piles of unread books lining my garret climb ever higher.  Still, here are the books I acquired this week.

W. Branch Johnson, Folktales of Normandy. The Whitefriars Press, London (1929). I got this at a used bookstore in the college town nearby, along with the next three.

Iona and Peter Opie, The Oxford Nursery Rhyme Book. Oxford University Press, London (1955).

Ron Goulart, The Funnies: 100 Years of American Comic Strips. Adams Publishing, Holbrook, Mass. (1995).

Jack Berrill, Sheesh!: A Gil Thorp Collection. Take 5 Productions, Arlington Heights, Ill. (1991). Purchasing this makes me think I have sailed past some obscure point of no return. What’s next? Mary Worth toaster cozies?

Ben Snakepit, My Life in a Jugular Vein: Three More Years of Snakepit Comics. Microcosm Publishing, Bloomington, Ind. (2007). I got this from Interpunk.com, along with the Cro-Mags’ “Age of Quarrel” LP on red vinyl and an Oi Polloi LP whose title cannot be printed in a family newspaper. The book comes with a CD. I’m the punkest guy in church.

Dan Berger, Outlaws of America: The Weather Underground and the Politics of Solidarity. AK Press, Oakland (2006). I got this at a leftist bookstore in the same college town, along with the latest copy of The Workers Vanguard newspaper, which is published by Spartacists.

William Kleinknecht, The Man Who Sold the World: Ronald Reagan and the Betrayal of Main Street America. Nation Books, New York (2010). This seemed an appropriate purchase given all the 100th birthday hoopla for Ronnie. I got it at a Borders. Word is that Borders is going to file for bankruptcy protection and announce the closure of at least 200 stores on Monday. This means bad things for writers, readers, and publishers.

(V. Charm)

3 responses to “Acquisitions, week of 2/7

  1. The Sheesh book is the only Gil Thorp collection that I don’t have. It’s kind of hard to find. I loved that strip when I was growing up. It wasn’t quite the same after Jack Berrill passed away, though.

Leave a Reply

